• /

KazAtomProm - Initiation of coverage

Altynay IbraimovaDecember 25, 2018

Due to low costs the world’s leader in uranium production, Kazatomprom, demonstrates stable financial performance even against the background of unfavorable price movements for uranium. The expected increase in global demand and prices for the company's products puts Kazatomprom in a favorable position compared to other players in this industry. According to our analysis, the fair value of the company's shares obtained by discounting cash flows is $16.5/GDR and T6135/share.

World leader in mining and uranium reserves. Since 2010, Kazakhstan holds the first place in the extraction of uranium in the world. Kazatomprom accounts for about half of the uranium mining in Kazakhstan, produced through joint ventures with the world's largest companies such as Cameco, CGNPC, Orano and others. In addition to the main product, uranium concentrate (U3O8), Kazatomprom produces rare metals, and is also the national operator for the import and export of nuclear fuel for nuclear power plants, special equipment, technologies and dual-use materials.

Low production costs guarantee profitability despite low prices. The use of underground leaching technology, which does not require mineral extraction, provides the company with a high level of profitability, despite the low level of world prices for uranium. In 2007 the cost of uranium concentrate has reached $ 140 per pound, falling to $ 20-30 in recent years. At the level of full operating expenses, including Capex at $ 16 / lb, Kazatomprom has a stable margin of safety and is able to maintain marginal indicators at a high level even in case of negative dynamics of uranium prices.

Long-term prospects for nuclear power. The reduction in uranium production by major producers, Kazatomprom and Cameco, reduces the supply surplus in the market in anticipation of increased demand from the nuclear power industry. The growing number of newly launched reactors and the confirmation of the growing plans for the construction of new ones make it possible to expect a stable growth in uranium demand in the long term.

12M TP $16.5/GDR, Buy recommendation. Due to the high-tech nature of the business, stable financial performance and stable financial position, our expectations for Kazatomprom shares imply high growth potential. Low prices for crude oil and other commodities do not have a significant impact on the company due to the difference between the uranium price cycle and other commodity cycles. The DCF method of valuation gives a fair value of $16.5/GDR and we recommend to Buy Kazatomprom shares, which is one of the leading companies in the uranium sector. Noting the high concentration of the uranium market, we assess the benefit from the uranium price growth for Kazatomprom as overriding.

КазАтомПром - Начало аналитического покрытия

Рекомендация «Покупать» с 12М ЦЦ $16.5/GDR.

Алтынай Ибраимова25 Декабря 2018

Благодаря низкой себестоимости мировой лидер по производству урана, Казатомпром, демонстрирует стабильные финансовые показатели даже на фоне неблагоприятной динамики цен на уран. Ожидаемое увеличение мирового спроса и цен на продукцию компании ставит Казатомпром в выгодное положение на фоне прочих игроков данного сектора промышленности. Согласно нашему анализу, справедливая стоимость акции компании, полученная методом дисконтирования денежных потоков, составляет $16.5/GDR и Т6135/акцию. 

Мировой лидер по добыче и запасам урана. Казахстан с 2010г. удерживает первое место по добыче урана в мире. На долю Казатомпром приходится примерно половина добычи урана в Казахстане, производимого посредством совместных предприятий с крупнейшими мировыми компаниями Cameco, CGNPC, Orano и др. Помимо основного вида продукции, уранового концентрата (U3O8), Казатомпром производит редкие металлы, а также является национальным оператором по импорту–экспорту ядерного топлива для атомных электростанций, специального оборудования, технологий и материалов двойного назначения.

Низкая себестоимость производства гарантирует прибыльность несмотря на низкие цены. Применение технологии подземного выщелачивания, не требующей извлечения руды, обеспечивает компании высокий уровень рентабельности, несмотря на низкий уровень мировых цен на уран. В 2007г. стоимость уранового концентрата достигала $140 за фунт, упав до уровня $20-30 в последние годы. При уровне полных операционных расходов, включающих Capex в $16/фунт, Казатомпром имеет стабильный запас прочности и способен поддерживать маржинальные показатели на высоком уровне даже в случае негативной динамики цен на уран.

Долгосрочные перспективы атомной электроэнергетики. Сокращение объемов добычи урана основными производителями, Казатомпромом и Cameco, позволяет сократить профицит предложения на рынке в ожидании увеличения спроса со стороны атомной энергетики. Растущее количество новых запущенных реакторов и подтверждение растущих планов на постройку новых позволяет ожидать стабильного роста потребности в уране в долгосрочной перспективе.

Рекомендация «Покупать» с 12М ЦЦ $16.5/GDR. Ввиду высокотехнологичного характера деятельности, стабильных финансовых показателей и устойчивого финансового положения, наши ожидания по акциям Казатомпром предполагают высокий потенциал роста. Низкие цены на нефть и прочие сырьевые товары не оказывают значительного влияния на компанию по причине отличия цикла урановых цен от циклов прочего сырья. Анализ методом DCF дает справедливую стоимость GDR в $16.5 и мы рекомендуем к Покупке акции Казатомпрома, являющегося одной из ведущих компаний уранового сектора. Отмечая высокую концентрацию уранового рынка, мы оцениваем выгоду от роста цен на уран для Казатомпрома как первостепенную. 

Для полной версии обзора загрузите PDF-версию